Skip to content

Well. This Wasn’t Part Of The Plan.

June 16, 2015

It appears that something has gone WRONG.

Actually, scratch that; it would appear that a good number of things have gone wrong.

I haven’t worked on my novel in almost two months. I haven’t blogged in around two months, either. I’ve barely written any fiction at all – or, indeed, anything related to fiction at all – in about a fortnight.

All in all, not good.

I’m pretty sure I know what happened with the novel, at least. I’d been plugging away at editing a particularly problematic chapter…and plugging…and plugging some more until, finally, I just grew sick of the whole thing. What I should have done at this point was to simply move to a different chapter; instead, I moved away from the novel altogether, and proceeded to flit between several different story ideas without settling on any of them. This wasn’t entirely a waste – I’ve actually now got a fair number of additional ideas that I’d like to expand some day – but it wasn’t really what I should have been doing.

But with that said: my real concern at the moment isn’t to jump straight back into the novel, but to just start writing again before this two-week dry spell runs on for any longer. Even a fortnight without writing will probably take a bit of time to properly recover from; should it extend to a month or more, I’ll probably have quite the struggle on my hands.

So, for the next couple of days, I’m simply going to be writing stuff again; I’ll be putting anything and everything onto the page in order to loosen myself up a bit, which is definitely needed at this point. Stuff, by the way, includes blog material…which just so happens to include the very text you’re reading right now ;).

But simply writing stuff was what I set out to do before, and that’s what put the novel on hold. At some point, then, I’m going to have get back to working on my book – and the longer I leave that, the harder it’ll be.  I will therefore be going back to it before the end of the week – as well as gradually building my daily word-count back up in the meantime.

Anyone found themselves in a similar situation lately? Feel free to share down below!

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Oh, brother, has this happened to me…my current WIP has had months where it languished as I diddled away at other things. A stubborn chapter or section can absolutely drain your energy and gumption. It happens a lot.

    I would recommend easing yourself back in to your novel, even if it’s just a hundred words or so at a time. Also, your instinct to work on another portion and come back to the stuck part later is absolutely sound.

    Here’s a positive spin on the business– stepping away for a while can sometimes allow your brain to noodle through the obstruction and come up with a better approach. But the essential thing is to keep writing.

    Best of luck.

    • Thanks, Doug. I am indeed starting to get back into it now, though my writing speed is still a lot slower than it was; another week or so and all should be good 🙂

  2. Well, first things first: It’s nice to hear from you again! 🙂

    What you’re going through happened to me before, too. Not with TKC, but with the book I was working on before it. I was in the middle of Draft #3 when I put it aside to focus on a “memoir” of sorts for my great-great-aunt. (I was afraid she’d pass away before we’d finish. *eeek*) And then I moved, and needed time to adjust to living in my new place. By the time I sat down to re-acquaint myself with the story, over a year had gone by, and I had lost the passion for the story. 😦

    Like Doug said, the best thing might be to ease yourself back into the novel, in short increments to rebuild your endurance. And listen to your gut feeling. If a scene is giving you too much trouble, move on to a different one and come back to the trouble spot later. It’s worth a try.

    • Thanks, Sara; feels good to actually be (somewhat) active again. I’ve gotten going again on the novel now, so I can only hope that things will go a little smoother from here on out.

      Out of interest: do you ever intend to go back to your older story? Was it a fantasy novel like TKC, or something else entirely?

      • Not really. Some of the ideas I had then would need to be reworked or abandoned entirely in order for the story to be publishable. Plus, I’ve borrowed some of the character and location names from there for TKC. So I’ve reached a point of “not going back” with it, I guess. And yes, it was epic / high fantasy like TKC.

  3. I’m going through this now. I sense that I’m about to burn out on one of my projects, so I’m considering putting it aside for a bit (or at least scaling back on it) and picking up an even older project that I’ve let sit for a while. It often helps to have two projects going on at once so you can switch between them.

    • Sounds like a plan to me; stopping writing is never good, so switching back to another project sounds like the perfect solution. Hope it goes well for you!

  4. Dispirited by Oz sinking more or less without trace, and agent rejections for my 4th, I’m hardly writing at all at the moment, and seriously considering stopping altogether. Never say never, but I may be heading for an open-ended sabbatical

    • I’m really sorry to hear that, Bobbie; I hope you’re feeling better now. To be honest, I’m really surprised that Oz isn’t selling more: its review ratings look excellent from where I’m sitting.

Leave a Reply

