Skip to content

The importance of sleep

March 17, 2015

I had big plans for this evening. I was going to update the blog. I was going to have that update mark the start of (semi) regular updates. I was going to work out what those updates would be. I was even going to perhaps do a bit of more on the novel, since I’ve mostly worked out how to make That Hospital interesting at last*. In short, I was going to do a lot of things.

But then, I obviously had to go and spoil it – by deciding to work late last night and sleeping poorly as a result.

My working day actually went pretty well, all things considered, but by the time I got back from that I was completely spent. So when I sat to write today’s intended post – a review of Seraphina, which I’ll say right now is excellent – I just could not seem to find the words. Sure, Seraphina is great, but how could I explain why n a quick and concise way? I stared at the screen with my hands over the keyboard, occasionally typing and deleting a sentence or two. I was completely blocked. It was hopeless.

In retrospect, I probably shouldn’t be surprised. Sleep, after all, is a rather important part of being productive – particularly when “being productive” involves thinking, as it usually does. As such, I probably should have known that something like was going to happen. This isn’t the first time I’ve made this mistake, either…and if I’m to be truly honest, it probably won’t be the last.

So, just to sum up:

– Seraphina is brilliant.

– Sleep is most definitely a good thing

– When blocked, writing any old rubbish is an entirely acceptable substitute for a proper blog update

So remember those points well, and I’ll see you all soon 😉

* …hey! A future update! Yay!

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Awwwwww.! I completely agree, though. Sleep is so important, sometimes more so than we think. I have a lot of trouble thinking straight if I don’t enough sleep for a couple nights in a row, so I empathize with you. Hope you can caught up on it and feel more rested soon.

    And I’m so glad you enjoyed Seraphina! 😀 Are you still planning to review it at a later time?

    The weird thing about you reviewing Seraphina now is its sequel Shadow Scale was just released. So now you don’t have to wait to find out what happens next! 😉

    • Thanks! I am indeed caught up now, so everything is good. And yeah, seems I picked the right time to read/review Seraphina; Shadow Scale is already on my to-read list, and it’s great that I won’t have to wait for it to come out.

      As for whether I’m planning to write a review…well 😉

  2. I try so hard to sleep. Sort of. Sometimes. Not consistently, in all candor. And too often, lately, insomnia thwarts my wisest attempts. Nothing sadder than lying there for hours with a brain that refuses to shut down. Just think how much more productivity I could fit into 24 hours if I could spend them all not only awake, but alert and energized! If only…

    • Bleh; sorry to hear that. Insomnia sucks, and I hope it gets better for you in time. And you seem to fit in TONS of productivity even as things are; not sure how you do it, if I’m to be honest 🙂

Leave a Reply

