Skip to content

Aaaand…it’s done. Sorta.

January 5, 2015

Big news, all: the 2nd draft of my WIP is finally finished!

Well…kinda, anyway. My WIP’s outline now appears to be set in stone, sure, and every scene required by that outline is indeed in the book. Β On the other hand, several of those scenes are still quite sketchy, with a few being little more than reams of dialogue with the odd action thrown in. In other words, it’ll still be some time before the book is really in a readable state.

And more time still, of course, before the book is even close to ready to be sent to agents.

The main thing with this draft is that I’m now happy with the story I’m telling, even though I’m not yet happy how it is being told. When I start the next draft, I can safely say that it won’t be a top-down re-write like this draft became; rather, I’ll simply be building on and refining what is already there. I’ve found the story I want to tell; now, I simply need to make it something that others will want to read.

Before that, I’ll be taking a short break from the project: I’ve been working on it for a while now, after all, and I reckon it would be better to view it through fresh eyes. I willΒ not,Β however, be taking a break from writing itself: I just know I would ages to get back into it if I did that, which wouldn’t be good at all.

Instead, then, I’ll simply work on other things for a while. I’ve a few other projects I’m keen to start – not to mention a ton of blog posts – so it’ll really just be a case of picking something and going to town on it. Pretty exciting, if I do say so myself πŸ˜€

 

From → Writing

17 Comments
  1. Well done, enjoy the “break” and good luck polishing in the next round! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I’ve never actually gotten to this point on a novel before, so it ought to be very interesting to get started on.

  2. WOOHOO!! Congratulations! *throws confetti*

    The best part… actually, no, the two best parts of this milestone is a) you know exactly what you need to do with Draft #3, and b) you’re going to take some time off for you before you tackle that third draft. Working on a novel (either writing or revising it) can be an exhausting task, so I think you’re doing the right thing by regrouping and focusing on other smaller projects before diving back into it.

    Happy New Year, by the way! How were your holidays?

    • Thanks! I agree completely with what you’ve said here. The only thing I knew when starting the 2nd draft was that the 1st draft was unworkable, so I’m expecting that the 3rd draft will start a lot more smoothly. I’ve no idea how long I’ll take away from the book yet – it’s really tempting just to go straight back in – but I’m sure it’ll be a few weeks at least.

      Happy New Year indeed! My holidays were really good, thanks: it was great to get away from work for a few weeks. How were the holidays for you?

      • Mine were pretty good! Busy at times, but I had some downtime in between and some vacation time away from work, so I was able to plug away at the WIP a little more.

  3. That’s so awesome! Congratulations!

  4. Cool. Sketchy but the right story? I’m still at the ‘relatively deep, but the wrong story’ stage! Congratulations πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I certainly took my time finding what that “right” story was, though: in the end, almost NOTHING from my first draft made it into my second. I’m quite curious now as to how common that is, actually.

      Out of interest, what makes you think that you’re writing the “wrong” story? Do you know what the “right” one is, yet, or are you trying to find out?

  5. Many congratulations! You’re doing the right thing by putting it away for a while. When you read it back after a month or so you’ll be really surprised by what you find (sometimes good, sometimes not so good). Now it’s time to celebrate reaching this goal!

    • Thanks! I’m expecting far more unpleasant surprises than pleasant ones, really, but I reckon that’s all part of the process πŸ™‚

  6. a moment to savour πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  7. Congratulations! Good luck with your edits. Putting the story aside for awhile is also a great idea. I find when I work on the same stiry over and over it becomes so nany black marks on a page that I can’t assess it properly. Distance is a much needed virtue sometimes.

    • Thanks! It was quite tempting to just leap into edits immediately, but I knew that some time away from the WIP would probably for the best. Still, I look forward to getting back into it now πŸ™‚

  8. Cracking milestone to reach! You’ve said it, you’ve worked out what you meant to say and now you’re going to say it well. Fun times my friend πŸ™‚

    I struggled with the ‘putting it down for a while’ part. I wish I’d had the foresight to have other things lined up, which I think is a great idea. Good luck buddy.

    • Thanks! I reckon it’ll be some time yet before I manage to truly “say it well” – I’ve never actually edited something this big before, for one thing – but it’ll surely all be worth it in the end.

      And yeah, I know what you mean about struggling: it’s really tempting just leap straight back into the WIP and edit the heck out of it, even though I know that would be a bad idea.

Leave a Reply

