Skip to content

Planning done; now all I need to do is write it all…

October 26, 2014

Well, the title says it all, really. The (final) set of plans for this draft of the book is now finished. I now have a chapter-by-chapter breakdown of the novel, and the “fragments” I mentioned before are rapidly being transferred to their proper places within the overall story.

Of course, the book’s outline will almost certainly continue to change in subsequent drafts; the key thing is that it isn’t going to change anymore in this draft, and that any further time on this draft will be spent writing it rather than planning. That way, I might actually get this draft finished at some point. I’m actually hoping to have the draft done by the end of the year…if only to add just that tiny amount of pressure I need in order to crack on.

It’s safe to say that my overall writing process has changed significantly in the past year or so. Not so long ago, I clung religiously to the Snowflake Method, and before that I was truly convinced that writing without a plan was the only way to write. Now, I seem to have developed a process that’s somewhere between these two extremes, and one which seems to suit me down to the ground.

So, during the coming the week, I’ll be saying a little bit more about said process…along with a fair few other things, thanks to this lovely blog-hop nomination. My response to this nomination has been rather later in coming than I expected (or wanted), but I’m nonetheless looking forward to finalising and sharing it.

Incidentally, one reason I’m promising that now is to add just that little bit of pressure needed to…well, you get the idea ;). Pressure is always a good thing in my view…in small enough quantities, at least. I doubt I’d get much done without it, in fact.

So how is everyone else coming along? Got any writing-related stories you feel like sharing. Feel free to share ’em down below.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Yay! All good things that mean progress, and all things I’m happy to hear from you. Keep up the good work! And looking forward to reading your blog-hop response when it’s ready.

  2. This is a good place to be. The hard work is behind you and the exciting bit of bringing each idea to life is in front of you. Go for it. As you know, I totally agree with throwing on some pressure to keep you moving. Keeps life interesting 😉

  3. It’s brilliant the way you’re examining both your book and the process, ever open to improving both. It makes the whole difference between a writer who’ll succeed and a writer who won’t. I’m looking forward to reading your first book! Enjoyed the blog hop link too 🙂

    • Thanks, Bobbie! I’m still hopeful of getting this particular book out there someday. Of course, if I don’t manage with this one then there’s always the next one. Or the one after that. Or…well,, yeah :).

Leave a Reply

