Skip to content

Pissing In The Pool (Or Why Readers Hate Indie Writers)

September 5, 2014

“If you are charging for your work, you have an obligation to be professional.”

A fine quote from a fine post. Great reading for readers and writers alike.

Sci-Ence! Justice Leak!

I recently took a minor part in a discussion on Amazon’s Kindle forums. This started because some of the people on there were looking for a way to filter out self-published authors (like me) and only see ‘proper’ authors. This would obviously not be something I’d be keen on.

But the thread I was drawn into was started by someone – another indie writer – complaining about this. And these were some of his complaints:

I’ve also read thousands of pieces of literature, mainly trad. published, and I’ve seen all types of mistakes in the writing — spelling errors, bad sentences, bad grammer, plots that didn’t add up . . . all and all, for me personally, I’m not a nazi, it’s no big deal, it’s just a story . . . when you see a play or a concert or some type of live show and the performer is…

View original post 1,098 more words

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I agree that indies should take a professional approach to self publishing. I’ve bought books from prolific indie publishers, to be pulled out the story by cock-ups with “their and there”. And then there was the romantic scene where the hero puts his arm around her “waste”. I was annoyed and I felt cheated. Where was the proofreading? Editing and proofreading are basic pre-publishing actions.

    • Agreed. I get particularly annoyed by this sort of thing when the book is otherwise good, which has happened on a couple of occasions now. If people are willing to take the time to write a book in the first place. you’ve got to wonder why they aren’t also willing to edit/proofread to the proper degree.

Leave a Reply

