Skip to content

Bloodchild is on Amazon. For free.

September 4, 2014

Bloodchild_cover

A few weeks back, I got talking to one of my colleagues about books and reading. It soon turned out that we were both big science fiction and fantasy readers, at which point the conversation naturally moved on to individual books and authors. I ended up bringing up Octavia Butler, among other things, and promised to send some links to her books at first opportunity.

And when I went to find those links, I found…this.

This is Bloodchild, an award-winning short story that several consider to be among Butler’s greatest works. And it’s now available on Amazon. For free.

I happen to like Bloodchild. I like it whole lot. I’ve brought it up before on this very blog, in fact. It’s essentially a love story, albeit an exceedingly unconventional one, and does a better job at that than most full novels…in my opinion, anyway.

Oh, and it was apparently inspired by Butler’s research into bot flies. So there’s that.

So if you’re looking for something new to read, go ahead and download. And feel free to comment if you do! I’d be most interested to hear what others make of it.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

