Skip to content

Quick Writing Update

May 3, 2014

So, I realised it’s been a while since I last talked about my novel. Since said novel is one of the main points of this blog, that is…not great.

So now, a quick update.

I’m around 18k into the new draft, and so far I honestly think it’s a remarable improvement over the old version. The pacing seems considerably tighter (as I’ve mentioned before) and the setting of the novel feels far more real, both in my mind and on the page, than it did before. I’ve been writing at a slow but steady pace, having managed to add or edit 500 to 1000 words on most days, and should easily have the draft done before the end of the year if this keeps up.

In addition, I tried sending my opening chapter to be critiqued by a few trusted readers. The response has been mostly positive thus far, but I’ve also recieved a lot of good constructive criticisms that I intend to put to good use in later drafts. I was particularly pleased by the response I got to the “hook” scene that occurs midway through the chapter: individual readers reacted to it in wide variety of ways, but it certainly did its job of making people want to read more.

All things considered, then, I’d say things are going well.

The only problem? I really have no idea what sort of book I’m trying to write anymore. This draft is turning out very differently from the original, and I can only assume the two will diverge further as time goes on. Given how faster the pacing is this time around, the two are pretty much going to have to diverge if the new draft is to end up novel-sized. What this means for the overall project, I’m not quite sure, but I guess I’ll begin to find out within the next ten thousand words or so.

Also, I literally just discovered the existance of the “more” tag on wordpress – not that I’m slow on the uptake or anything…

Any recent writing progress to share? Feel free to do so below.

From → Blogging, Writing

9 Comments
  1. Keep at it! Write your first 60k words and then worry about the editing / shaping

    • That’s pretty much the plan. I actually have a first draft already, of course, but I’m replacing so much material that this is more like a “draft 1.5” than a true second draft.

      Thanks for commenting!

  2. Writing a novel’s a process. It’s amazing how it evolves as you go! I also got critique feedback recently and now I’m hard at work enhancing some emotional impact. Best wishes on your latest draft!

    • Agreed; it continues to astound me how this story I’m working on has changed over time (and I’ve been working on it for quite a while, in one form or another).

      Thanks! And best of luck to you, too.

  3. Great stuff. And sounds like you’re enjoying it 🙂 Yay!

    • Sure am :), Only problem is that I’m not getting much time to focus on it right now; the next month ought to be a lot better in that respect, though.

  4. Just a heads up: Don’t add the “more” tag before you publish the post. Wait until you press publish first, then go back in and add it.

    That way, your whole post is included in the email subscription, which makes it easier for people to read inside their email client on their phones and tablets without clicking something extra. 🙂

    • Ah, right. Thanks for the tip; I’ll be sure to remember that in the future.

      • Just keep in mind that if you follow Tuan’s advice people will read your post in their emails and not on your site, which will negatively affect pageviews if that matters to you. You can also customise the more-tag so it shows something different than just “Read more…”

        I need to start over with my novel as well. It’s changed so much in my head since I last worked on it, I can’t carry on from where I stopped. It will just be easier to start from scratch.

Leave a Reply

