Skip to content

So, just to confirm…

April 16, 2014

“TPG’s Tasters” – credit to mobewan for the name – is officially going ahead.

For those who missed my first post on this, the basic idea here for me to post a series of recaps on free ebook samples, most of which will be science fiction or fantasy and many of which will be by independent authors and/or otherwise obscure. After explaining my thoughts on the cover, blurb and sample, I’ll “review” the sample by answering the All Important Question: “Did I buy it?”

My aim here is twofold. Firstly, I’d like to give readers a chance to discover books they’d otherwise never read: with the ebook market as bloated as it now is, it’s all too easy for good books to go unnoticed. Secondly, I’d like to give something back to my fellow writers, by helping us all to think harder about how to present one’s work.

Of course, I myself will getting a good amount out of this. I’m both a reader and a writer, after all 😉

The first taster will be Second Chance, by Dylan S Hearn; a big thanks to KokkieH for sharing this book with me. I’ll post this one on Sunday evening this week, and will then be aiming to post a minimum of one of these each fortnight thereafter. If anyone has suggestions for future books for me to feature, feel free to suggest ’em down below.

 

From → Writing

10 Comments
  1. Hi – I’ll volunteer myself (is that allowed?). Novel is IRRADIANCE on Amazon at http://amzn.com/B00IRG97SK. Love the idea.

    • It is indeed allowed :). I actually read Irradiance recently, so I’ll The Dream Guild on the list instead.

  2. Oooh, I love the name. Can’t wait for the first one! 😀

  3. Great idea! I love David getting in there first – top self-promotion!

    • Indeed :). Nothing wrong with a bit of self promotion every now and then; for that matter, that was kinda part of the idea when I started this.

      Now I simply need to not mess up the first taster post…

  4. Looking forward to the first taster.

    • Thanks! Did you try that other book you mentioned yet, out of interest? If so, how did it go?

      • Not yet. I have a borrowed book I need to finish first as I have a deadline for returning it.

Leave a Reply

