Skip to content

INSPIRED Blog Tour – Guest Post by Danielle Shipley

April 9, 2014

 

Inspired2

Today, I’m hosting the fantastic Danielle E. Shipley, an author who I’ve read and reviewed several times. Inspired was one of those times, and I liked it rather a lot, so it gives me great pleasure to be a part of her book’s tour. If you’re interested (and believe me, you should be 🙂 ), then an extract of Inspired can be found by clicking here.

So, with all that said, on with the show!

 

INSPIRED Guest Post – The Chosen One of Prophecy

By Danielle Shipley

With the exception of sequels, each of the countless* books I’ve cranked out in my decade or so of professionally-minded writing have shared a trait in common: There was always that hope that the story coming together beneath my typing fingertips would be the one. You know. The One. The special Chosen One of prophecy**, foretold to transform me from an unpaid hobbyist into a published novelist.

*(Seriously, I keep losing count.)

**(Pretend my mother’s a prophetess.)

Out of habit, I held the same hope for INSPIRED. Sure, all the other novels I’d queried to agents so far had gotten me nowhere, but surely this masterpiece could go the distance with some literary gatekeeper, right? I did and didn’t believe it. Then J. Taylor Publishing offered me a contract. I still did and didn’t believe it then, but my belief barely mattered, at that point. It was happening! INSPIRED was going to be my first published novel! And it was kind of ironic.

As I’ve made no secret of to anyone who asks, INSPIRED is heavily influenced by my own authorial experience with the fictional friends of my creation. Almost every main character in it is based on another character I’ve written in other books – some of which had already received rejections from agents, and some of which I haven’t trotted out yet. Who would have thought a novelized account of our “off the clock” shenanigans together would be the project to first click with a publisher? Who knew all those hours of goofing off with imaginary friends would bear this kind of fruit? I’m sure it all just goes to show something or other, but I’m not half wise enough to know what, so I guess that moral’s flying over my head, for now.

I still hope to get some of those original stories tidied up*** and shared with the public, by and by. But gone is the hope that any of them shall be The One. That prophecy has been fulfilled. Now for the one where my writing is destined to make me a millionaire****.

***(“Tidied up” here standing in for “completely rewritten”, in some cases. I swear, I don’t even know where to begin with the original shape-shifting cat character’s story…)

****(Let me dream.)

 

About The Author

Danielle E. Shipley’s first novelettes told the everyday misadventures of wacky kids like herself. …Or so she thought. Unbeknownst to them all, half of her characters were actually closeted elves, dwarves, fairies, or some combination thereof. When it all came to light, Danielle did the sensible thing: Packed up and moved to Fantasy Land, where daily rent is the low, low price of her heart, soul, blood, sweat, tears, firstborn child, sanity, and words; lots of them. She’s also been known to spend short bursts of time in the real-life Chicago area with the parents who home-schooled her and the two little sisters who keep her humble. When she’s not living the highs and lows of writing young adult novels, she’s probably blogging about it.

 

Info

Release Date: 17 March 2014

Target Reader: Adult

Description

For a muse like Lucianíel, one story’s end is another’s beginning.

In the wake of his author’s sudden death, Luc takes ownership of her surviving creations—four fantastical characters with tales yet to be told—saving them from unwritten lives crumbling around them and giving them a second chance at a literary future.

Luc finds that chance in the unsuspecting mind of Annabelle Iole Gray, a quirky teen with her head in the clouds, nose in a book, and imagination ripe for a brilliant muse’s inspiration.

Or so he hopes.

Neither Luc nor Annabelle, however, realize all they’ve undertaken. Even with a to-write list including accounts of a shape-shifting cat creature, gentle knight-in-training, vigilante skater girl, and a mystery boy smothering in unspoken fear, the most remarkable saga created between author and muse just may turn out to be one stranger than fiction.

Their own.

 

Purchase links

Amazon

Barns & Noble

Kobo

From → Blogging

3 Comments
  1. Great interview! And Inspired sounds … well, inspired 😀

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Pics or It Didn’t Happen | Ever On Word

Leave a Reply

