Skip to content

TPG reviews: Shades and Shadows, a paranormal anthology

November 3, 2013

So…in contrast to how this blog has been going lately, my offline writing life has been going remarkably well as of late. I’ve managed to write on most mornings, having flitted between a couple of projects to keep myself from getting stuck on any one of them. Things are going so well, in fact, that I’m now considering a return to my main WIP. I spent several hours this weekend going over and revising my notes on the project, and hope to get started on writing it again by Tuesday.

I’ve also been reading a fair bit. I finished Embers at Galdrilene not so long ago and am currently in the middle of Catskinner’s Book, written by a certain Misha Burnett. Embers will be getting reviewed shortly but, first, I’ve got something a little different to talk about:

In the dead of night, you sense something . . . other . . . beyond your sight, out there in the darkness. You feel a breath upon your neck, cold and clammy, fecund with mold and decay. Your hair stands on end from no random chill. The air is still. No one is there.

Travel with nine talented writers into their paranormal world, but don’t disregard that inkling that niggles somewhere in the pit of your stomach to leave the light on, to shun that dark room, and to pull the covers over your head.

Whatever you do, don’t look under the bed.

Shadesandshadows

My rating: 9/10

I received this book as an advance copy, in exchange for an honest review. A big thanks to J. Aurel Guay for giving me the opportunity to do this.

Long story short, I utterly adored this. All of the stories are excellently written, and there’s a good range of different styles of storytelling on display. After the spectacularly creepy “Music Man”, for instance, it was nice to get a bit of a breather by way of “China Doll”. Likewise, “Tombstone” was a nice comedown after the much darker “The Cost of Custody”, though both rank among my personal highlights.

My favourite story of all, however, was the one that first brought me into contact with this collection. “The Death of Dr Markus Wells” is a truly spectacular piece of fiction that will thrill and horrify you in equal measure, and it was a fine note to end the collection on.

…oh, and it has parasites in it. Can’t forget that πŸ˜‰

There were a couple of stories I didn’t like so much, but these were only a small portion of the overall experience. For most of the time I spent reading this, I was truly hooked. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone after some good-quality fiction

Shades and Shadows can be found here.

From → Reviews

8 Comments
  1. Thanks for the great review, and for posting it on Amazon.

  2. Thanks TPG! I’m glad you liked The Death of Marcus Wells. I’ll try to work some parasites into the next thing I write just for you πŸ˜‰

  3. rmridley permalink

    Thanks for the mention. I’m glad you liked the story, it means a lot to me to get the encouragement.

  4. Reblogged this on The J. Aurel Guay Archive and commented:
    Another kind review from a friend πŸ™‚

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A pleasant surprise | The parasite guy

Leave a Reply

