Skip to content

The Star Beast; book covers

October 13, 2013

So now that things have FINALLY settled down in real life, I think it’s high time I got back into this whole “writing” thing – both offline and on. It probably won’t surprise you to learn that I’ve done next to no work on my stories lately; today was the first good day in ages, in fact. It may surprise you, however, that I’ve kept up with reading quite a bit better. I’ve read two more books since I first went up to Scotland, namely The Swan Prince and Brain Plague, and shall be reviewing them shortly. Both reviews are set to be good, incase you’re wondering.

Today, however, I thought I’d talk about The Star Beast a little more.

Whenever I review a book with multiple covers, I display the one I like the most. I used this rather than this when reviewing The Mount, for instance. When it came to The Star Beast, I had a lot to choose fromb where covers were concerned. In the end I decided to go with the cover from the Baen edition, which was published last year.

Here’s a few, meanwhile, which didn’t make the cut:

The-Star-Beast-WTF2

This actually sums up the book quite well; it’s just a shame it was put together so poorly.

The-Star-Beast-WTF3

Is…is that supposed to be Lummox!?

Alright, so I wouldn't have used this one anyway, but jeez.

Alright, so I wouldn’t have used this one anyway, but jeez.

The-Star-Beast-WTF

…yeah. I’ve got nothing.

And last but not least, two covers which I actually quite liked:

The-Star-Beast-good1

Really nice art here in my opinion. Only used for the audio CD, unfortunately.

The-Star-Beast-good2

Art from the original 1954 edition. I very nearly went with this: it captures ol’ Lummie really well.

So, what do you think? Any favourites? Any unfavourites? Feel free to post down below 🙂

From → SF articles

2 Comments
  1. I audio CD pains me…. hehe

    • Fair dos :). It looks a bit childish, maybe, but I still think it’s better than a lot of the covers this book got.

Leave a Reply

