Skip to content

TPG reviews: The Bite On The End of The Line

October 2, 2013

Yeah, sorry for disappearing all of a sudden. The start at my new uni has proved to be a lot tougher than I was expecting, to say the least. Maybe in a later post I’ll ellaborate.  Anyway…

Neither good nor bad for most of its length, Bite sadly runs out of steam in its third and final act

Clinging to the bar running along the front of the platform, Sergeant Osric has a lot of time to think about how he got there. About how he’s shooting through a forest on a rocket powered railcar. About how a grinning thief is clinging to the same bar beside him. Most of all, though, about how he’s heading for Bytarend; a town no-one has heard from in almost a hundred years. There has to be a reasonable explanation for their silence, after all. Osric tries to think of a reason that doesn’t end in his horrible death…

… he can’t come up with one.

My rating: 4/10

Cover

Cover

For much of its length, Bite is simply okay; not good, but not bad either. There always seemed to be just enough to it to make me keep going, but never enough for me to feel truly wowed. The writing was a bit slow at points, but not cripplingly so. The central two protagonists, Osric and Tondbert were enjoyable without ever feeling like more than characters in a story. The humour, meanwhile, ranges from childish to pretty good. No matter which way I looked at Bite, it seemed completely and utterly average.

Towards the end, however, things began to unravel. The problems started just past midway, with an enemy castle being unlocked and unguarded purely because the plot said so. Things got worse later, with the book eventually degenerating into a series of fight sequences that all went on for far too long. By the end I was getting bored, and I felt happy to be moving on when I finally finished; that, needless to say, ain’t a good thing

While I did like the two main characters, the others fared less well. The villains were all flat to a fault, and Osric and Tondbert’s allies were only slightly better. Some of these allies were intreaging, certainly, but none were developed to any depth. This made it difficult to be become fully invested in the book’s goings on.

Bite has a lot of interesting worldbuilding, with nice plays on old fallbacks such as vampires and zombies and the like, but the storyline simply can’t quite live up to it. It’s hard to feel annoyed , given that it’s free over on Amazon, but I can’t say I’m likely to read more from this series.

From → Reviews

4 Comments
  1. kingmidget permalink

    It’s interesting … I read this book. Well, all of it until the last 10-20 pages. Ever since then, I’ve thought about posting a review that would be limited to this statement: I read this book and got to the final 10-20 pages and didn’t care enough to actually finish the book.
    Glad I’m not alone on this one.

  2. Started it. Was very easy to read (too easy perhaps), but the set up for a specific character was very similar to something I am working on, so abandoned it (lest it influence my thinking). Based on reviews I think I’m going to find it hard to muster any enthusiasm to go back.

    • To be fair, some people do seem to like it. But yeah: personally I wouldn’t reccomend going back, even without the added issue of your WIP.

Leave a Reply

