Skip to content

Off to Scotland tomorrow! (Also, reading progress)

September 23, 2013

This will be a very quick post, since I’m supposed to be packing my PC away before too long.

Tomorrow, I’ll be riding trains for seven hours. When I finally stop travelling, I’ll be at St Andrews. I’m going to be at St Andrews a lot for the next four years, as I’ll be starting a PhD in astrophysics there very shortly.  Needless to say, I’m feeling very excited – but also more than a little nervous. I can’t help buy think I’m going to feel very stupid for the first year or so: after all, I’m going to be surrounded by doctors and professors of physics, whereas I’m still green as can be in the grand scheme of things.

Still, on the whole I’m looking forward to this, and I’m very grateful to be able to go.

On the reading front, I recently finished The Bite On The End Of The Line and have now moved on to The Star Beast, by Robert Heinlein. The latter has proved to be very, very good so far; I got through the first half in only two days, and will almost certainly finish it on the train tomorrow. I’ll have reviews up for both once things settle down.  If anyone has read either, I’d be keen to hear your views.

Until next time, all.

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. Astrophysics? I’m impressed. I prefer astronomy – less math 😉

    Happy travels and good luck with your studies. Think of it this way: you managed to get accepted so you must surely be good enough.

    • Thanks :). I prefer astrophysics for precisely the opposite reason, incidentally :P.

      The move-in was a wee bit fraught in places (hence my sudden absence from the internet) but things seem to be settling down nicely now. And that’s a very good way to think about things; I’ll be sure to remember that.

  2. I look forward to your review of Star Beast, Dr. Parasite.

    • Glad to hear :). It really was a great book; it more than made up for Stranger in a Strange Land, which I couldn’t get into at all..

  3. Good luck, and don’t worry. I’ve spent most of my adult life feeling stupid! Always something to learn (although astrophysics is waaaaay out of my league). Uni was one of the best experiences of my life – great times, great friends and its where I met my wife. I have a vague recollection of learning some stuff too – you’ll have a blast.

    Started The Bite…a while ago, but one of the characters was too close to one in my WIP so I put it down. Seemed very (very) pulpy up until that point – possibly a bit too much. But it was definitely easy to read.Looking up Star Beast now…

    • Thanks :). Your time at uni sounds absolutely wonderful! I enjoyed my undergrad days; I met a ton of great people, though I probably spent a little too much time studying. I’d happily do it all again (ignoring the matter of funding, for a moment).

      Sorry to hear about Bite. I wondered at first if The Star Beast would present me with a similar problem, but decided after a handful of pages that it wouldn’t (and it didn’t). Given how enjoyable it turned out to be, I’m very glad of that.

      …sometimes, I think it would be easier to enjoy books if I never got involved in this whole writing business. Ironic, that.

  4. Ooh, that sounds fun. Good luck!

  5. Good luck with the start of classes! I have faith that things will go well for you. 😉

    What are your plans for the novel / WIP? Are you going to set it aside while you work on your degree, then come back to it later on?

    • Thanks :). Here’s hoping it goes good.

      I’m going the WIP aside for a bit, but hope to go back to it long before I actually finish my degree. Essentially, my plan is to try write short stories for a while and then go back to the main WIP after I have a bit more experience under my belt. In that time, I’m hoping it’ll have matured in my head a bit more.

Leave a Reply

