Skip to content

Reading update

August 24, 2013

Recently, I’ve been in the mood for a good old fashioned piece of SF. I finally rectified matters yesterday by starting Wasp, by Eric Frank Russel. So far, it’s turned out to be fairly similar to Next of Kin, albiet with a slightly more serious tone and a far less spoileriffic blurb, and I’m loving it. If things keep up the way they are now, then I can see myself writing a rather gushy review in the next week or so.

waspt

After that, I’ll be reading something I’ve never read before in my life: an Advance Review Copy. Honestly, I’m feeling more than a little pumped about this. The copy in question is of When Stars Die, by Amber Skye Forbes.  As I’ve mentioned before, this author runs an active blog right here on WordPress that both writers and readers are sure to get something out of; feel free check it out here. 

WhenstarsDie

Placeholder cover, retrieved from author’s blog

Following on from WSD, I’ll be hitting the indie scene again with The Bite at the End of the Line, by Simon Cantan. This is a book I came across on the blogosphere some time ago . I still know very little about it, save that it’s a fantasy novel with some really spiffing cover art. I’ll be sure to let everyone know how it went when the time comes.

The_Bite_on_the_End_of_the_Line_(wider)_e610d0

Aside from the above, I’m also likely to be reading a boatload of scientific papers as my PhD start date draws closer. I would attempt to review these, but I somehow doubt that this would be appreciated.

From → Blogging

2 Comments
  1. I like the look of The Bite. Acquired and added to never ending backlog… The Wasp looks interesting, both in style and story, but I’m trying to focus a bit on indie books at the moment. Logged in my “books to add to my never ending backlog” list though

    • Hoo boy, backlogs. I lost track of my backlog a few months ago, though “about half of my kindle collection” sums it up pretty nicely.

      Wasp is indeed interesting; I finished it yesterday and it’s probably going to be a 5/5 review. I’d definitely recommend it when you get time for it.

      Hope you enjoy Bite :). Haven’t started it yet, myself, but I’m looking forward to doing so.

Leave a Reply

