Skip to content

WIP update (Day 47 of novel)

August 16, 2013

The last few days have been good ones for my WIP. I’ve been adding roughly a thousand words each day, bringing my total just shy of 37k. Had it not been for last week, I’d have an average pretty close to a thousand by now.

Anyway, the big thing to report is that my protagonist has now begun to apply a bit of assertiveness and analysis to their situation. Their naivity and childishness is still very much there, but they are actually trying to think their way through the situation they are in. In other words, they are beginning to – shock horror – develop.

This is great and all, except that it wasn’t supposed to happen this way. I was working on a part of a scene which was only supposed to last a paragraph or so, and then all of a sudden it snowballed and became a scene on its own. In this scene, my character inadvertently stumbles across a potential solution to their problems while acting out of sheer stubbornness.  Granted, this solution is going to turn out to be insufficient on its own, but it’s still going to lead to a fair amount of development of both the the protagonist themselves and their parasitic “pet”. Quite what this means for the rest of my outline, I’m not quite sure.

Well, what can I say? It’s not like I actually control what’s happening in this. I’m just writing the thing.

Like this. Sorta.

Like this. Sorta.

All joking aside, I’m both glad and thrilled that this has happened. Put simply, it has shown me that I can still surprise myself while writing this novel.  Given how much time I spent planning it, I was wondering if writing it up would still feel exciting. I can now safely say that it does and, in all likelihood, will continue to do so for a long time yet

Anyone else working on something big at the moment? Had anything similar happen to you? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

From → Blogging, Writing

6 Comments
  1. I *love* points in the story like this. They can often be a little problematic for the plans you have on ahead, but they’re so much fun! This is also how I know that my characters are “real”, because if they have their own, unique personalities, then they’re going to do what they want. Even if I came up with them originally, that doesn’t mean I’ll know exactly what they’ll do and how.

    I haven’t had anything like this happen recently, but I’ll admit I’ve been slacking off with my writing a little…. I’m trying to write a short story, though, so I’m hoping to change that. 🙂

    • Agreed. It really has been quite neat to see a character go off in their own direction like this; I just hope it doesn’t completely torpedo the original outline. It’s the first time this has ever happened to me, incidentally.

      I’ve got a couple of short stories in the planning stages, but can’t for the life of me decide which one to focus on. Maybe I’ll end up flipping a coin or something.

      Best of luck with your new project!

      • Hehe, yes. One project of mine went through about three or four different plots because my characters were going all over the place… And I had a character who was originally supposed to be minor end up being vitally important to the plot. Funny how characters work once you’ve got them developed.

        I’m at the total opposite end; I want to break from writing novels for a bit and write a short story, but I have absolutely no ideas. Eventually I’ll come up with something, I’m sure, but I guess I have to keep looking…

  2. Ha ha, I love the picture you included in this article! It’s so true that we often have no control over our muse. New ideas pop up when you least expect it, and then you just have to run with them. Would you mind if I used the picture if it fits a future “Chronicling The Craft” article?

    Glad to read you’re progressing more and more on the novel. You’ve come a long ways in the word count, so keep going! It also sounds like you’re enjoying discovering your protagonist and watching him/her evolve. As for the questions you asked at the end, I want to say that I’ve run into a situation like that, where an unplanned event, plot point, or character trait / change suddenly happens. But I can’t think of any… *scratches her head*

    • Wouldn’t mind at all…mostly because it’s been around for years and I have nothing to do with it 😉 (note the URL in the lower right corner). I agree that it’s a brilliant image, though.

      How’s your WIP coming along, by the way? Mine’s been going a little slower lately, but I’m still pressing onwards. I re-did my outline again recently(for, what, the fifth time? I forget) and fixed a couple of outstanding kinks in the story, so I’m feeling good about what is to come.

      • It’s coming along well enough. August has been busy in some parts and stressful / creativity-dampening in other parts. But I’ve moved forward nonetheless. I actually just posted a new Chronicling The Craft tonight, if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

