Skip to content

Back to normal soon

August 10, 2013

You may have noticed that I have not posted in nearly a week, despite having originally promised a review on Tuesday. This is due to a few unforeseen circumstances on the day in question, followed by some entirely foreseen circumstances over the rest of the week (which is why I said it would be Tuesday, funnily enough).  The review is still not written, but it ought to be done…uh, some point soon. Next week will be a lot less busy, so expect things to go back to normal before long 🙂

Anyway, in lieu of a proper update today I thought I’d share this lovely article, which I came across several days ago.   Essentially, it argues that aspiring novelists should consider using short stories as a mean to practice their craft. This got me thinking; it’s been a while since I last tried to write a short story, and the only one I’ve ever really been proud of is the one that I’m now using as the basis for my novel.  This novel has been the sole focus of my creative writing time as of late, but I’m now wondering if it might not be worth lowering my wordcount goal for it in order to write something else on the side. Finishing some shorts would certainly be a heck of a buzz, but I’m not really sure if this would be the best way to use my writing time right now. If anyone has tried something like this, I’d be keen to hear your views.

The author of the above article, by the way, keeps a couple of WordPress blogs as well; these can be found here and here. Be sure to check ’em out 🙂

From → Blogging

8 Comments
  1. Couldn’t agree more. A great way to keep your mojo going in a and around whatever big work in progress (WIP) you are working on – I’ve been trying to commit to one short story a month (either put on blog or smash words or send off for vain attempt at publication). I’ve found competitions help as well when you just can’t think of a topic. Also, I’ve also started writing spin off short stories for my WIP. Help me flesh out a character, set something in my mind when I’m struggling to world build or just see what happens when I’m stuck on the WIP. Can heartily recommend it.

    • Think I’ll give it a whirl, then. My WIP’s been going well lately, but I seem to have been having to force it somewhat. Maybe some shorts are what I need to feel properly motivated again 🙂

      I’ve never thought of writing spinoffs as a way to solve WIP issues; I can see myself trying that some time.

      Thanks for stopping over!

  2. I have to agree about the short stories. They refresh the mind and help correct mistakes not readily seen in the long novel. I’ve taken some awards with mine and am still writing them as a way to relax.

    • It seems that quite a few people write short stories for this sort of reason. I’ve decided to start writing them again now; it’s been more than long enough.

      Congrats on your awards, by the way!

  3. Huh. When I started reading the article, I was inclined to disagree, because all of my writing skills have been formed through my novel-writing. I only have about three short stories, all of which had been written in the past six months or so.

    Actually, though, I do see a good point here. You have to develop the character and voice and everything so much faster in a short story than a novel, and I can see how that might be beneficial.

    Hmm. Maybe I should go write a short story, then…

    • It’s certainly worth a shot if you have the time to do it. My writing skills have developed mostly from novels, too, though my one decent (in my mind) short story probably taught me more about the craft than anything that came before it.

      I’ve now decided that I’m going to go ahead and start working short stories into my writing schedule. I just hope it doesn’t slow down my main WIP too much.

      • I’m not sure if there was any particular story where I’ve had the most development—at least, that I know of off the top of my head.

        Good luck! I know sometimes it can be a little difficult to split your concentration between multiple projects. 🙂

Leave a Reply

