Skip to content

Day 30 of Novel – Behind on words, but finally have an ending!

July 30, 2013

First of all, sorry for disappearing for a few days.  I have several reasons for this, though none of them are good.

Yesterday, I got absolutely no writing done whatsoever – at least, not directly.  What I did do for a bit was go back over my list of scenes and try to improve upon it based on what I’ve learned over the past month.  I wasn’t feeling particularly energetic and wasn’t really expecting to get much done on this; instead, the session snowballed and I found myself staring at a completely revamped outline, complete with an actual ending, at around 11pm.  Seeing as this is the first time I’ve known how I’ll be ending the novel, I’m feeling pretty pleased with this.  I’m also pleased that the revamp has only invalidated about half of what I’ve already written: at least this much would have been gutted out in the redraft anyway, with or without having confirming it ahead of time.

clipart_pencil_checklist

Perhaps unsurprisingly, the writing has been going a bit slower recently.  After several slow days on the trot, I had a good session today and ended up getting my overall wordcount up to 25k.  Provided that tomorrow isn’t a complete bust, I ought to end up with an average of around 850 a day over the first month.  It’s not quite what I had originally hoped for, but it’s certainly nothing to sneeze at as far as I’m concerned.  It’s a whole 850 higher than most people will have done this past month, at least as far as fiction goes.

The above reasoning, by the way, holds for whatever kind of average you’ve been managing lately.  So if you’re not feeling proud of your recent wordcount, remember that and start feeling proud 🙂

On the reading front, I recently finished reading Gone, by Christine Kersey, and have now started reading Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane.  Gone…really didn’t go down well with me, to be honest; expect a full review soon.  Ocean, meanwhile, is simple incredible. I’m just past the 40% mark and it’s shaping up to be the best book I’ve read in a very long time (not to mention one of the most surreal).  I predict that I’ll be reading many more Gaiman books in the near future.

Has anyone else here read Gaiman’s latest book yet?  Have any thoughts on it?  You know the drill: post ’em below 😉

From → Blogging, Writing

13 Comments
  1. I love those moments when things suddenly click! Day 30 and 25K this is certainly nothing to sneeze at. Rock on!

    • Nothing beats that kind of feeling, if I do say so myself :). Rock on, I shall; I hope your own writing goes well, too!

  2. Congratulations! I still have to figure out my own ending, but I’m not worried about it. I have a basic idea where the story’s going, so I’ll figure it out at some point, I’m sure.

    That’s great! 850 definitely doesn’t need any sneezing. 😉

    I haven’t heard of/read either of those, actually….

    • Thank you! I’m sure your ending will come to you long before you actually get there, and probably when you least expect it to.

      Ocean is definitely worth checking out if you get the chance; it just keeps getting better and better.

  3. Congratulations. 25K words is a good chunk. Just make sure that you keep going and don’t go back to correct the bits that don’t match your new outline. That’s a rabbit hole that’s best left for the 2nd draft 🙂

  4. Well done you! I envy you knowing how it’s going to end. When that happens to me (soon I hope) I shall celebrate. I’m averaging about 100 a day at the moment, all in fiddling about polishing the 54,000 I have, not in moving forward. But you’re right: even 100 a day counts 🙂

    • Thanks, Bobbie! I bet it’ll feel excellent when it happens; I hope you end up celebrating it in appropriate style 😉

      I look forward to reading the book when it comes out :).

  5. Cracking progress, any and all words count. I find mixing my week up with writing, editing and outlining allows me to get my fill of pure output, pure playing/tweaking and thinking ahead. Not each one moves at the same pace admittedly, but it seems to be working.

    Re: Gaiman, I belong to a goodreads group (SciFI and Fantasy eBook Club) and that’s the book in the sights for August. Looking forward to it, will let you know what I think.

    Only just found your site and going to check out your Farhome house series.

    • Sounds like you’ve got a really good system going :). I’ve been largely focused on output alone recently, but this is sure to change later on.

      Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Ocean. Aere you planning to blog about it?

      Also, I hope you enjoy Farhome House. I seem to have fallen off the treadmill as far as regularly updating it goes, but I’m hoping to make up for that in the near future.

  6. Kate is permalink

    850 words a day is fantastic 🙂
    Yes, I have read it and I loved it. It’s a keeper. He really had the touch.

    • Thanks! It came out about 10 lower in the end; shocking, I know 😛

      I’m around 70% through Ocean now and am still loving every bit of it. Have you read any other Gaiman books, out of interest? I’m thinking of trying Good Omens at some point next month.

Leave a Reply

