Skip to content

TPG Reviews: two free shorts

July 26, 2013

Today, I thought I’d do something a little different and review the two free short stories that I reblogged so recently.  These stories are The Oldest Man in the Universeby Tuan Ho, and Adamby Justine Allen.  Both of the stories remain free at the time of writing, so be sure to snap them up soon if you haven’t already.

Oldestman

As its name suggests, The Oldest Man in the Universe is centered around the oldest living man in existence.  That man is Carlos, who has finally decided that he’s seen everything there is to be seen and now simply wants to let himself die.  Carlos invites his many friends, who comprise of almost every known sentient species in the universe, to come and watch the occasion.  The story is very well written, with good pacing and well-realized description and dialogue.  The science was…rather off, to say the least, but this didn’t hurt my enjoyment one bit (which is probably saying something, really).  My only real criticism is the ending, which comes largely out of left field and seems like it was intended to lead into a larger piece. I would give this one somewhere in the region of 3 to 4 out of 5.

adam

Adam, meanwhile, is…well, “haunting” would be the easiest way to describe it. This story shows the progression of a seemingly Utopian society through the perspective of Adam, the last human ever intended to be born.  What follows is an amazing amount of worldbuilding is crammed into only a handful of pages.   The writing  here is exceptional on the whole, with hardly a single word wasted.  There were a couple of times where it seemed to be moving along a little too quickly, but this is only a minor thing.  After following through the lives of both Adam and the civilization he lives in, the story caps itself off with an ending as masterfully written as it is chilling.  I would give this story a solid 4 out of 5, and am not even remotely surprised that it was commended in a competition.

If you’ve read these, then I’d be keen to hear your thoughts on them.

PS: the novel is now up to 22700 words. I’ll be sure to make a proper update on it the next time I post.

From → Reviews

10 Comments
  1. Thanks for the review! If you could, I’d love it if you left a review for it on the Amazon website as well. I mean, I don’t want to really pester you as you reading my story is already more than what my own family (I can’t even get them to care about my writing at all lol)

    But thanks once again. 🙂

  2. Aha – the review for Adam was from you. I was so excited, I blogged about it, but couldn’t work out who it was. Many thanks again!

  3. Adam. I like chilling stories -will try to download 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A pleasant surprise | The parasite guy

Leave a Reply

