Skip to content

Day 25 of Novel – Act 2, begin!

July 25, 2013

Today’s writing session ended up going great, but for the lognest time I wasn’t expecting it to go at all well.  I felt extremely unmotivated today, for some reason, and nothing I did seemed to shake that feeling.  After slogging through the first couple hundred words, I was seriously getting ready to give it up for the day…and probably end up on Dawn of War, knowing me.

In the end, however, I managed to keep at it.

Since writing the scene in a linear manner didn’t seem to be working, I instead decided to simply write down anything and everything that came into my head.  I started with dialogue: I wrote just a few lines which roughly alligned with how I imagined the scene progressing. After that, I wrote some lines and paragraphs of action/description and slotted them in where best seemed appropriate. Finally, I set about joining together all the bits I had just committed to the page. After a bit of chopping and changing, I considered the resulting scene more than satisfactory for the purpose of a first draft.

I suppose the easiest way of describing what I did is to call it a more localised take on the “Writercopter” method; for more details on this method, I would suggest giving this a read along with the accompanying link. Essentially, I simply wrote down whichever part came to me the most strongly at the time, rather than wasting time attempting to do everything in a perfectly linear fashion.

The scene finished up significantly shorter than the thousand words I was aiming for, so I ended up doing a bit of work on the next one too.  That scene is still looking rather scetchy at the moment; joining that one up is going to be tomorrow’s job.

Got any favourite methods of rescuing a flagging writing session?  You know what to do: feel free to share ’em below 🙂

From → Blogging, Writing

9 Comments
  1. That’s an…interesting idea. Usually, when my writing doesn’t seem to be going anywhere where I’m at, I end up writing random scenes from later on in the novel. Just, whatever idea pops into my head first. Those scenes never end up in the draft for long, but it helps me get unstuck. 🙂

    • I haven’t done anything like that yet, but I can see it happening later on if I get well and truly stuck on something. Gotta keep ourselves writing somehow, after all.

      Thanks for commenting 🙂

  2. Wow! Thanks for linking to my article. 🙂 Glad to hear the “writercopter” was helpful for you today, and you kept at it without giving up and were able to get yourself “unstuck.” Go forth, TPG!

  3. I think for me the best thing to do when I feel myself flagging is to step away from the keyboard – go do something as mundane as washing up or walk around the block, just move for a little while and get some headspace. It usually means when I get back even ten minutes later I have a much clearer idea of what I’m doing next.

    • Very good point indeed. I sometime like to go outside with a cup of tea if a session is going really badly, or even if a session is going well and I just feel like a bit of a break. It always seems to do the trick, though I’m not sure whether its the fresh air or the caffeine which is having the bigger effect 🙂

      Thanks for stopping over!

  4. Kate is permalink

    Dialogue will usually get me into the flow. If I imagine the talking in my head, get it down on the page, then something deeper might ( a big might) will come.

    • Sounds like we work in pretty similar similar ways, then. Dialogue does seem to be the best way to get into a scene in most cases; not sure what I’m going to do if I get stuck in an action series, but I’ll worry about that one when I come to it.

Leave a Reply

