Skip to content

How to Train Your Dragon 2 – teaser trailer released

July 13, 2013

Just thought I’d quickly share this, seeing as I’m rather fond of the original movie.

At first, I wasn’t particularly sure about Hiccup being as aged-up as he is.  Everything about this trailer suggests a film significantly different in tone to the predecessor and, well, I LIKED the original tone.  This, I thought, would never do at all.

Ruined_forever

Okay, maybe a slight exaggeration…

After a bit of thinking however, I can see why the creators took this route.

For one thing, the first film is fairly old now: by the time this sequel comes out, the original will be around four years old and said film’s primary audience (AKA: people younger than me) will have aged significantly.  Keeping the tone unchanged would essentially require the makers to pitch the film to a whole new audience which, frankly, would make no sense at all.

There’s also the problem of the TV series, which is relatively obscure compared to the movie which spawned it. Setting another movie close to the first HTTYD would either require the series be taken into account (awkward, when most of the film’s audience won’t have watched it) or completely ignored, the latter of which would be particularly bad seeing as the series is still ongoing.  Moving the story forward by a few years enables the series to remain questionably canon without it being important to the higher-profile project.

For further details of the upcoming movie, including a brief synopsis, I would suggest giving this a look.  Needless to say, I am already planning on seeing this one.

Seen the original movie?  Planning on seeing the sequel?  I’d love to hear your thoughts below 🙂

From → Uncategorized

18 Comments
  1. I’m always a bit apprehensive when anyone but Pixar attempts a sequel to an animated film. Normally it’s just a random collection of gags with no actual story or character development, like Open Season 2 (didn’t even bother watching 3).

    Hang on, did you say there’s a series?

    • I’ve avoided most sequels to animated films for just this reason. After watching the Shrek franchise self-destruct, I decided that it would be better to just stop watching such franchises before they have a chance to turn bad. I think the problem is that most animated films are made to be standalone, meaning that sequels are often driven by marketing considerations rather than artistic ones.

      And yeah, there’s a series which takes place almost immediately after the film’s ending. It’s pretty good from what I’ve seen of it, but it’s nothing compared to the movie.

      • The preview and the synopsis you linked to looks good. I think I might just risk this one.

  2. Wow. I repeat: wow.

    That was definitely not something I expected. Hiccup being so much older, I mean. However, I can definitely see and understand the reasoning behind it, and I don’t think it’ll ruin anything. Also, my insider-informant claims that the movie looks like it’s going to be really cool. 🙂

    I’m definitely seeing this one when it comes out.

    • I’ve decided that I’ll be seeing this on its opening weekend now, and I pretty much never do that with films anymore.

      Must be really neat knowing someone inside the industry :). I really hope they turn out to be right on this one: it would suck for something like HTTYD to end on a low note.

      • I’ve only seen a few films on opening weekend. The only one I can think of off the top of my head is the Hobbit. But I’m pretty sure I’ll see this one.

        Yes, my dad works for the company, so whereas he can’t really tell us anything (he jokingly says “I could tell you, but then I’d have to kill you”), he can tell us that he likes what he’s heard/seen. I really do hope it turns out as well as it seems. 🙂

  3. I’ll definitely see this one, just because I liked the first movie so much. When one gets attached to characters, you know how it goes.

    Unfortunately, animated films do tend to disappoint. To my opinion, not even Pixar can do it right, except for Toy Story. Their films have been lacking lately… But this isn’t Pixar, and I really do like these movies… I’ll give it a shot. They say it’s going to be a Trilogy though. I hope they don’t run out of ideas for the third one.

    • A trilogy? That would be awesome! (if they do a good job, that is)
      Next summer could very possible Rock! 🙂

    • Wait, there’s going to be a trilogy? Awesome!

      I’m guessing that the 2nd and 3rd movies will be a lot more closely linked than the 1st and 2nd will be, in that case. I wouldn’t be particularly surprised if HTTYD ends on a cliffhanger of some sort, either.

      I’ve been wanting to see Toy Story 3 for ages; I’m not sure why I still haven’t, come to think of it.

      • Yes, read it in an article, there’s a contract for a trilogy. 🙂

        And you’re probably right, with this much gap in time between the first and second movie,

        You should watch Toy Story 3, it’s one of the best sequels you’ll ever see, especially so since it’s a third movie of a series, of all things.

  4. Reblogged this on Rose's Road and commented:
    *Gasp!*
    My first look at the upcoming sequel to How To Train Your Dragon!
    I HAD to share this. 🙂
    P.S. What are Your thoughts?

    • Thanks for the reblog :). Really wasn’t expecting anything like that.

      • You’re welcome. 🙂

        I’ve never expected many reblogs and have been surprised at the posts that were chosen for such a purpose.

        Also, I haven’t watched tv in months, so I hadn’t even known they were working of a second Train Your Dragon movie. I’m very happy to learn of this sequel. 🙂 So, thanks for telling us about it.

Leave a Reply

