Skip to content

Day 11: A bit slower, but better than nothing. Also, a new book to read!

July 11, 2013

Today didn’t go quite so well, at least as far as writing goes.  I started my session very late today, having spent much of the day busy with other things, and only cranked out 498 words before deciding to call it quits and start earlier tomorrow.  I will honestly be astounded if even 100 of these words make it any further than the first draft.

On a happier note, I’ve now finished the book I was reading (a freebie which was requested for review, available for download here if you’re interested) and will be posting a review in the near future.  Furthermore, I already know what I’ll be reading next: Next of Kin, by Erek Frank Russel.  This is a somewhat obscure SF novel which was recommended to me by a good friend of mine.  As soon as I saw the blurb, I just knew that I had to read it:

 Scout-Officer John Leeming knew from the very start that his reconnaissance mission deep into enemy territory was likely to be a one-way trip. But when his ship finally let him down and he crashed on a far-distant planet and was captured by tough and ruthless aliens, he knew he wasn’t just going to give up. Armed with a piece of wood, a coil of copper-like wire, his quick wits and an imaginary ally called Eustace, Leeming embarked on a brilliant campaign to gain his freedom – and coincidentally undermined the entire alien war effort!

If the book is half as good as that blurb, then I reckon I’m in for a treat.  If anyone here has any experiences with this author, then I’d love to hear about them :).

Finally, to all the writers out there: how are your current WIPs coming along?  Had any particularly good/bad days  lately?  Feel free to post below.

 

From → Blogging, Writing

6 Comments
  1. That’s an interesting coincidence…. I’m having a bad day today, as well. I’ve written about…. oh, 20 words or so, and I’m not sure I can really get anything more written. Horrible, I know.

    However, that does sound like a pretty interesting book. Granted, I haven’t read very many sci-fi books. Actually, I’ve only read *one* book….so far. I’ll change that eventually, I’m sure.

    Anyway, good luck for tomorrow!

    • Thanks! Today ended up being a good day; I hope it was for you as well.

      I noticed today that the book has a review on the back by none other than Sir Terry Pratchett. Apparently, he wishes he had written this book. I think I’m in for a treat 🙂

      What is the sci-fi book you’ve read, out of interest?

      • Today? Nah, today’s not very nice, either. Granted, it’s barely afternoon (for me, anyway) so I’m not going to say the day itself has been bad. I just haven’t had much opportunity to write yet.

        Well that sounds promising. 😀

        It was…oh, The Supernaturalists by Eoin Colfer. However, Ender’s Game is on my list of to-read books, because I’ve had about a dozen people recommend it to me. Have you read either of those?

      • That would be far too early to tell for me, since most of my writing has been in the afternoon and evening lately. Here’s hoping the day gets better later on 🙂

        Never read The Supernaturalists; first I’ve heard of it, in fact. Ender’s Game is something I only read a few months ago, however, and I wholeheartedly recommend it.

      • Most of my writing happens in the early morning or late in the evening. Lately, it’s been happening more in the evening. Thank you!

        It wasn’t really that good, in my opinion. I mean, I can’t really compare it to other books like it, but the characters were rather…dull. It was also predictable.

        Both of my parents have read Ender’s Game, and are excited for the movie. My mother says I’m not allowed to even see the preview to the movie until I’ve read the book.

  2. Kate is permalink

    Almost 500 words is still almost 500 words which in my world is great.
    I’m in between works, still trying to decide on my next project. I have so many ideas and I need to choose well.

Leave a Reply

