Skip to content

Days 9 and 10 – Plan? What plan?

July 10, 2013

I realized that my “about” page is hideously out of date not so long ago.  I’m probably going to have to fix that in the near future.

Anyway…

So, yeah: I ended up missing my update yesterday.  The good news here is that, unlike last time this happened, I still managed to hit my target of 1 k in a day.  I hit just over 1k today, too.  I’ve now got approximately 9100 words after 10 days of writing.  According to my excel spreadsheet, my average is 925.  I’m…not quite sure what happened there, to be honest.

At any rate, things seem to be going pretty well right now.  Most of my main cast has been introduced at this point and they all seem to be developing distinct personalities.  My protagonist is acting a bit naive and thick right now, but that it entirely intentional; they’ll get over it later, believe me.  The only slight issue is that I already seem to be deviating from my plan in several ways.

For starters, it seems to have become a minor plot point that the schooling system in my world sucks royally.  This is particularly impressive given that I’d never really considered how schooling would work in my plan, on account of the fact that my teenage protagonist spends so little time in education: once the proverbial poop hits the fan, they stop going and then only go back again towards the end of the book. In terms of why it sucks…well essentially, it’s the sort of system which required its students to put in excessive hours in order to truly get anywhere in it.  Needless to say, there’s a number real-world curricula that I’ll be taking inspiration from in this regard.

Furthermore ended up writing a scene today which wasn’t in the plan at all.  Essentially, I realized that I hadn’t yet shown that the drug my protagonist keeps getting high on is, in fact, highly addictive. Thus, I’ve now put my protagonist in a situation where they’re not going to get their daily dose of the stuff, meaning that tomorrow’s scene will largely consist of them going into withdrawal.  I’m not quite sure how I’m going to present this yet, but I suppose that’s half the fun of the whole process.

On a separate note, I reckon it’ll be another 5000 words before I begin to really do my blog’s name proud in this book.  I’m quite looking forward to that, I must say.

From → Blogging, Writing

15 Comments
  1. Would one take a drug consistently if it isn’t highly addictive? Perhaps you can indicate that via cost or difficulty obtaining rather than simply stating.

    • Very good points, though in this particular case it won’t be possible to show it that way. The drug is both incredibly easy and cheap to obtain, at least for my protagonist. I’d go so far as to say that, on most days, it’s harder for them to not be given it at some point 😉

      Thanks for commenting!

  2. I guess it’s time for me to resign to the fact that you’re going to pass my word count in three or four days. 😉 I can’t complain, though: Even though my schedule doesn’t allow for me to work on the novel every day, each sit-down goes well enough.

    Once you introduce your parasitic character, could you tell us a little bit about him?

    • To be honest, it sounds like your days are a lot busier than mine at the moment.As long as your individual sessions are going well, then I wouldn’t worry if you can’t always fit them in.

      And yeah, will do :). I’m not sure which bits about him to reveal first, but I should have some kind of post about him out by the end of next week.

      • I’m not worried about it. 😉 I accepted a while ago that because of my work schedule and other commitments, I just have to a) squeeze in time for writing when I can, and b) divide such time among my different projects. It’s worked out well enough so far. And I should have time for the book tomorrow. 😀

        I think I caught some discussion about the antagonist that you posted since making this last comment. Off to go find it!

      • Hmmmm…. Maybe I imagined it, because I can’t find it. 😄

      • I think you did :P. I should have something out on that in a day or so; sorry for the hold-up :).

      • No worries! Take your time and post it when you’re ready. 🙂

  3. I love the way your left and right brains are working together with creation and spreadsheets.

    • Glad to hear :). It’s probably the best way for me to work: the spreadsheet does wonders for motivation.

      Incidentally, I’ve managed absolutely nothing on the WIP yet today. Always tomorrow, I guess 🙂

  4. Great stuff 🙂 🙂

  5. That’s great! 9k is wonderful.

    Hehe, this is the point, in my own writing, where I would be going, “yes!” My stories usually work out for the best when they deviate from the plan. Often they become more complex, or something less cliche, or something like that. Then again, I am mostly a pantser, so that’s to be expected, I suppose. 🙂

    • Thanks! It’s certainly great for my standards 🙂

      I must admit that I’m a little apprehensive about deviating from the plan so soon, though it helps that my story is still heading towards the disaster I’ve got planned for my protagonist; once that disaster takes place, I’ll be going back to the plan unless I have any sudden brainwaves.

      I’ve always found that pantsing leads to me getting bogged down in irrelevant stuff. I’m not sure whether I do it wrong or whether I’m just not cut out for it.

      • I don’t think there *is* a “wrong” way of pantsing, which means you probably aren’t cut out for it. But, of course, there’s nothing wrong with that. There are definitely some absolutely brilliant authors out there who plan their novels out completely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

