Skip to content

Day 5: Getting better again

July 5, 2013

Thankfully, today’s session went better than yesterday’s.  By the end of it I had reached 1072 words, bringing my average up to 953, and finished the scene I’d set out to work on.  Tomorrow will  probably be a bit slow (I’m out for most of the day), but after that I expect that the average will be back to be above a thousand before too long.

Today’s scene was…well, interesting would be one way of putting it.  Essentially, my aim with it was to include just the right level of WTFery to set the tone for the rest of the novel without making anyone want to tune out – not exactly easy, to say the least.  Considering that I’m on a first draft, I must say that I’m pleased with how this particular scene  turned out.  It probably needs to be moved closer to the beginning of the book – it occurs just before the 5k mark at the moment – but I can see this scene surviving the redrafting process with only comparatively minor changes.  I most definitely can’t say the same thing about the stuff I wrote yesterday.

Anyway, I said a few days ago that I was going to make a longer post, so it’s probably about time I actually made good on that promise.  Therefore, I thought I’d share a few of the animal images that I picked up online while trying to settle on a design for the key fictional species in my novel.  This is not to say that said species completely based off of real creatures – far from it in fact.  But that’s a topic for another time.

(Anyone afraid of insects and spiders probably ought stop reading here, by the way.  I mean it.  Don’t say I didn’t warn you.)

 

 

 

 

As mentioned previously, giant wetas came up a lot, particularly in the beginning.  I find these things oddly cute, to be honest.  I really hope that I’m not the only one.

largest-insect-22

Yes, these things can get pretty damn big. The largest reach over 70g, though these tend to be ones raised in captivity.

Like I said - big.

Like I said – big.

largest-bug-giant-weta4

Alright, I promise: no more giant wetas for the rest of this post.

I also saved  pictures of a few other things:

Toe-Biter

A giant water bug, otherwise known as a toebiter. This particular one is a male. And the lumps on its back? Eggs. No, really.

I loved the closeup of the eyes in this shot.  That's largely why I saved it, come to think of it.

I loved the closeup of the eyes in this shot. That’s largely why I saved it, come to think of it.

hyme_l005

Another head close-up. Not really much else to say here.

In addition to the above, there were a couple images that I saved purely for the purpose of working out a scale.

goliath-birdeater-spider

This is one such example; generally, I looked for images of people holding onto something.

Hedgehog_web

Eventually, I settled on using hedgehog pictures for this purpose. Why? Er…because.

cute

Though I did seem to get a bit distracted at times, for some reason.

The weekend’s scene is aimed at introducing one of the book’s most important characters; I’ll be sure to keep this blog updated on how that goes.  Happy writing, all 🙂

largest-bug-giant-weta3

Alright – just one more.

From → Blogging, Writing

6 Comments
  1. Wow. Those are….really big. Like, creepily so. (I really don’t like bugs. At all. Spiders are the worse, though.) However the hedgehogs are kinda cute.

    Anyway, good luck on the word-count! Far better than my 80-something words. I’m hoping I can sneak in something more tonight before bed….

    • Hedgehogs are awesome. We actually get a few over where I live; they’re really fun to watch.

      As far as wordcount goes, today is going to be abysmal (nothing done on the WIP yet and I’m going pretty soon.) Tomorrow will be a lot better, so I’m not particularly bothered 🙂

  2. I love spiders, but some of these are plain scary! 953 is a good average!

  3. I can’t wait to see what your fictional critters look like! Are you going to show us a sketch?

    • If and when I learn how to draw things other than stickmen, then sure :P. I can see myself posting a description of them at some point, though.

Leave a Reply

