Skip to content

Day 4: err…whoops

July 5, 2013

Whoops sums up yesterday quite well as far as my writing went.  Not only did I miss my daily target, but I also managed to miss my blog post.  Hence why I’m writing this post now.

For whatever reason, I just…wasn’t feeling it yesterday.  At all.  I managed to force out just under 700 words, but the scene I was writing bogged down tremendously.    Remember when I said the scene in question revolves around a drug sequence?  Well, I haven’t actually got to the drugs yet.  Today, I’m going to skip straight to the meat of the scene, so to speak, and worry about filling in the gap when I start redrafting.

I will honestly be amazed if even one hundred of yesterday’s words survive the first redraft.  Most of them were, quite frankly, dreadful and I realized this as I wrote them.  The only reason I kept going as long as I did was to keep some semblance of momentum going; from previous experience, one day of little to no writing tends to lead to several more such days.  A day of bad writing, on the other hand, is simply a way to get badness out of my system.  Well, that’s what I like to think, at least 😉

According to excel, I’ve now averaged 923 words a day after four days of writing.  This is hardly bad, but probably not enough to get a first draft finished as early as I’d like.  Guess I’ll have to step up my game a bit.

 

 

From → Blogging, Writing

12 Comments
  1. To butcher one of my country’s most famous country singers:

    “A bad day’s writing ain’t a bad day at all, just as long as you been…”
    Your choice of ‘tapping the keys’ or ‘scribbling the words’.

    Good work on fighting through the no-writing urges; keep fighting the good fight =)

  2. An average of 900 is pretty good, actually, I think. I agree, though, that if you stop writing one day, then chances are, you won’t get much, if any, written the next day. If you manage to get something written, however, sometimes it’s easier. That’s how it’s gone in my experience, anyway.

    Good luck!

    • 900 is inded pretty good by my standards. That’s what counts, right? 🙂

      My experiences are similar: coming out of a long writing break is like trying to push through a brick wall. I’m really hoping that I don’t end up having to do that again.

  3. D. James is right. You sat down and wrote. And putting in the effort is the most important part. Don’t worry too much about not meeting your goal. Sure, it could motivate you to do better next time, but don’t get into a habit of chastising yourself each time you don’t make it. Just accept, and move on.

    May I make a book recommendation? Try “The 7 Secrets Of The Prolific” by Hillary Rettig. It offers insight and suggestions on how to overcome procrastination, perfectionism, and writer’s block – and it’s a very liberating and empowering read in general. It’s available both as paperback and e-book (though I don’t know if it’s just for one type of e-reader or workable on all).

    • Chastising myself just takes the fun out of the process, to be honest, but I still do it from time to time. It’s a great motivator in small enough quantities :).

      Can’t say I’ve ever heard of that book before now. Just bought it after checking it out over on amazon; thanks for the recommendation!

      • Well, I guess chastising is allowable then. 😉 I just don’t want it to have the opposite effect on you, that’s all.

        You’re welcome about the book recommendation. I hope you like it! I had also reviewed the book on Amazon (ViolettePoetry is my username there). Feel free to read it if you’d like a little more insight on the book before you read it.

  4. That’s a great amount of words and it doesn’t matter what they look like. Just putting your backside down and writing every day is what matters at this stage. It becomes a habit very quickly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

