Skip to content

Recommendation: How To Train Your Dragon

June 25, 2013

My last few days, to put it simply, have been taken up almost entirely by post-success laziness.  Having received my university results, I really haven’t been in the mood for much over the past few days.  My most productive moment was over the weekend, when I traveled up to London in order to catch up with some old friends.  Other than that, all I’ve done since results day is finishing and reviewing a book and watching a movie.

That movie, if you missed this post’s title, is How To Train Your Dragon

This film, quite simply, is one of the best films I have seen in a long time.  It contains excellent animation, a wonderful score and a truly heartwarming narrative.  I daresay that this is a true family film: whether you are aged nine or ninety, I can imagine you enjoying this.

Having seen this movie, I’m seriously considering digging into the books at some point in the near future.  I’m probably three times the age of these books’ intended audience, but that never ought to stop anyone.

Seen the movie?  Read the books?  Done both?  Feel free to leave your opinions below.

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. I love this movie. It’s really quite something. I remember watching this movie with two kids I was babysitting, and they enjoyed it immensely. I probably enjoyed it as much as them, if I’m completely honest. xD

    • I’m not surprised :). Quite a few Dreamworks and Pixar films seem to fall under this, actually; my whole family has fond memories of The Incredibles in particular.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I really like to read what others think about books, films etc. I will be following to read more.

  3. I just watched ‘How to Train Your Dragon: Riders of Berk’ LAST NIGHT with my kids! HTTYD is one of our favorite movies. I particularly love the father-son dynamic. It speaks to so much of our father starved generation. Sadly, the TV series Riders of Berk doesn’t quite live up to the movie. I never realized just how good the animation was in the movie till I saw how bad it was in the TV show. The plots are not as interesting either, but, there’s lots of dragon riding so my kids still enjoyed it 🙂

    I didn’t know there were books, I’ll have to check them out.

    If you are interested in another good children’s animation that’s great for adults check out the series ‘Transformers Prime’ on Netflix. I’ve watched the entire two seasons available twice…

    • I’ve watched a couple of episodes of Riders of Berk now. They were certainly good for a laugh, but I agree that the movie is a lot better. Gift Of The Night Fury, the Christmas short, is also excellent.

      From what I gather, the books and the movie/series have hardly anything in common besides the basic setting and the characters. Hiccup is still the son of a viking chief, but dragons and vikings are already working together. Hiccup cements his role as the village failure after bonding with the weediest dragon imaginable: still Toothless, but this Toothless is tiny and does not in fact have any teeth.

      I must admit that I’ve never heard of Transformers Prime; I’ll be to take a look at it.

      Thanks for commenting 🙂

  4. I love that movie. It’s definitely one of my favorites. From the storyline, to the characters, to the animation, to the music—it’s really fun.

    I’ve read the first three books of the series, but they’re very, very different. Really, the only thing in common is some of the characters and the setting. Despite that, the books are fun, even if for a pretty low reading level. I liked the addition of the drawings in the midst of the story.

    I can’t wait for the second movie….

    • The first book is on my to-read list; I tried the amazon excerpt and was laughing out loud before the end. If anything, book!Hiccup’s life sucks at the beginning even more than it does for his movie incarnation.

      I’m looking forward to the second movie too, though I really hope that they don’t end up running the story into the ground. I still remember what happened to Shrek…shudder…

      • I liked Shrek. My favorites were the first and the last movies, though, not so much the middle ones. But from what I’ve heard, the second How to Train Your Dragon movie is going to be pretty good. Then again, I do have insider information….. Hmm.

        The thing I’m wondering is what the story is going to be. Since the book and the movie are so different, chances are, the second movie can’t really follow the second book. Then again, maybe I’m wrong. I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

      • I liked the first Shrek movie and thought that the second one was okay, but wasn’t keen on the third and never even watched the forth. Maybe one day…

        To be honest, it wouldn’t surprise me if the second movie brought back Alvin. He played quite a big role in the TV series, and the second book was where he was originally introduced.

        Speaking of the TV show, I’m kinda wondering whether the second movie will take it into account. I’m not sure how many people have actually seen the show, for one thing.

      • The fourth one was pretty good. It ended the story nicely, and it was an interesting storyline.

        I actually haven’t seen the TV show before. I’ve heard about it, and I know a few people who do, but I haven’t seen any of it before.

Leave a Reply

