Skip to content

Ivory tower, here I come…

June 21, 2013

Today, I received my degree results.

Honestly, I’d been worrying myself half-mad over this for several weeks.  I thought I’d failed; I could feel it in my bones, whatever that means.  I felt exactly as I’ve felt at this time of year for the last several years.  Perhaps unsurprisingly, my fears turned out to be baseless as always: I got a 1st.  I can now say with absolute certainty that I’ll be starting a PhD this September.  My topic will be focusing around dark matter; I must say that I reckon it’s going to be utterly fascinating.

My big hope is that I’ll be able to remain in academia after receiving my PhD.  Being able to spend my whole life learning would just be fantastic, particularly since I seem to be utterly inept at many other aspects of life.  Essentially, I’m hoping to climb atop a nice, big ivory tower away from the real world.  It’s probably not the most noble of ambitions, but there you have it.

Needless to say, I am in a rather celebratory mood right now.  I am already onto my third cider (it’s just gone 3pm here) and the chances of me posting anything meaningful today are rapidly diminishing.  I’ll probably see you all in a few days.

— The Parasite Guy

From → Blogging

18 Comments
  1. Congrats on the awesome result! Enjoy your days of success-fuelled inebriation, you deserve it =)

  2. Many congratulations, a massive well done! xx

  3. Rock on, TPG! Gradschool is a wild ride, so hang on tight!!

  4. Congratulations! Well done. Studying dark matter sounds awesome.

  5. Congrats. Best of luck. (Being an ignorant and unwashed ‘merican, I had to look up what a “first” was, but it sounds pretty good). Go out and leave no riddle of the universe unplumbed.

  6. Congratulations. Here’s a song that’s actually related to the topic. xD

  7. Congratulations! Destroy those ciders my friend? I look forward to calling you Dr. Parasite guy.

  8. Congrats on your achievement x

  9. well done, Mr Parasite!!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Fellow aspiring writer for 21 June 2013 | D. James Fortescue

Leave a Reply

