Skip to content

Blog shout-out: The Dancing Writer

June 3, 2013

Well, here it is: my second shout-out to another blog.  And only a week or so late.  Go me.  Now that my course is finally over, I plan to make this a weekly event on my blog. I will generally post these on Sunday but, since I hinted towards this one some time back, I thought I’d go ahead and post it right now.

Today, I’ll be talking about The Dancing Writer, a blog run by Amber Skye Forbes.  Amber is both a dancer and an aspiring author, who has been writing since the tender age of 13.  She primarily blogs about writing, but also discusses dancing and her struggles with mental illness, among other things.  Her first novel, When Stars Die, is due to be published by AEC Stellar Publishing later this year.  Amber herself describes the book as a Paranormal Romance which is heavier on the paranormal than the romance – something which I’m sure a lot of people could get behind.

Another thing I should mention is that Amber’s blog is exceedingly active.  When I first came across her website, it wasn’t much larger than mine is; now, it has well and truly mushroomed, with two new posts appearing each day on average.  There is absolutely no way, then, that I can draw attention to more than a small fraction of this blog’s articles; rather, the posts I’ve highlighted below have been chosen to provide an overall impression as to what can be expected.

Advice to All Writers: Managing Adversity

Writing is hard, and only a tiny fraction of writers will ever earn large amounts of money from the words they write.  So does that mean that writers shouldn’t dream big?  Amber believes otherwise:

Let yourself dream big. You should. You’ll only work that much harder toward achieving it, and there will always be some kind of rewarding payoff for hard work. Success is different for everyone anyway.

Really, this is a  great post to read if you feel you need a bit of extra encouragement on pursuing your writing dream – or any sort of dream, for that matter.

Stupid Writing Advice

This post was written in response to a series of advice snippets posted on tumblr, many of which are exceedingly common.  This post does an excellent job of pointing out why not all of these snippets are necessarily worth following.

Do Not Deny Yourself Help, My Fellow Spoonies

A  very well thought-out and personal post.  If you suffer from mental illness or know anyone who suffers from such a condition, then please look at this.  I really have nothing else to say.

Blogging Tips for Fellow Writers

Last but not least I thought, I’d put the spotlight on this article, as I found it to be particularly helpful when I first came across it. If you’re still new to the world of blogging, then I would really advise paying attention to this one.

The Dancing Writer can be found here.  This is a blog which has grown rapidly in only a handful of months, and it shows no sign of slowing down.   So what are you waiting for?  Go ahead and start reading 🙂

From → Blogging

2 Comments
  1. Thank you so much for this! I am truly honored. 😀

Leave a Reply

