Skip to content

And the next thing I’m reading is…

May 20, 2013

Having now read one indie book that I hated and one that I really liked, I thought that it was high time that I started reading a third.  This time, I’ve decided to try something a little different: Minutes before Sunset, by Shannon A Thompson

Going into this one, I really had no idea what to expect.  On one hand, the excerpt is marvelous and the author’s blog is updated both frequently and with consistent high quality.  On the other hand, this book is a paranormal romance – a genre I usually avoid – with a name strongly reminiscent of That Series.   I was apprehensive yet hopeful when I started reading.

One tenth of the way through, things are looking good.  So far, there’s been a lot of paranormal and not a lot of romance, though I’m guessing that the romantic element will become larger as the book progresses.  The writing is strong and the worldbuilding has already drawn me in quite spectacularly.  As long as the romance component doesn’t end up eclipsing everything else, I can see myself really getting into this.

From → Blogging, Reviews

4 Comments
  1. I am soon going to be reading that as well! I am looking forward to it (altho I primarily read paranormal romance *grins*)

    • Thanks for stopping by! It’ll be interesting to see how our opinions compare, given that you’re a lot more experienced with this genre than I.

  2. Looking forward to your thoughts on this one. I like contemporary romance and tend to avoid paranormal novels but I do have this one on my ‘out of genre’ to-read list.

    • Looking forward to giving them :). I don’t usually read romance, so I’m quite interested to see what I make of this book.

Leave a Reply

