Skip to content

Uh, wow. I haven’t posted in ages…

May 11, 2013

It has just occurred to me that the last time I posted any new content was almost a week ago.  It has also occurred to me that I have gotten absolutely no creative writing done this week and so will probably not have anything of worth ready by the end of Sunday.  I suppose I’ll have to change that bit where I said that I would definitely update my main story at least once a week.

I would like to be able to say that this is just because my University workload has skyrocketed, the traditional end-of-year crunch having well and truly begun.  This is certainly a part of it, and I did indeed predict that this would happen, but it’s hardly the main reason: the sad truth is that, even after four years of university, my time management stinks.  I’m hardly the only student for whom this applies, but that doesn’t make it any better.

In fact, I’d go so far as to say that time management is one of my biggest flaws and it is certainly a major reason why my hobbies have developed so slowly during my time at university.  I’m on track to receive a degree that I can be proud of, but I sometimes wonder just how more I could have done in the last four years had I managed my time just a little bit more effectively.

With all that said, University is something I’ll only get to do once whereas I have still have my whole life to develop other pursuits.  I can safely say that things could have gone a lot worse.

Is anyone here a student or a recent graduate?  How easy did you find it to manage your time when things got busy?

From → Blogging

10 Comments
  1. Don’t worry, you’ll get there!

    I graduated at the end of 2008 and I don’t think my time management showed any semblance of actual “management” until about this time last year. I was mostly drunk, but I graduated with decent grades. Uni was a good time.

    After you’ve graduate I’d recommend shopping around for a book on time management. They’re all pretty lame, but the content is usually good and it’s just a matter of finding a system that works for you. Before bed each night (well…most) I write down what I have to do the next day, so when I get up I have a clear plan. It’s a simple system but it works for me.

    I’m guessing you’re in your very early twenties, so yeah, there’s heaps of time to get things sorted. Don’t stress!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Allen. I think I’ll give your system a go: an overly complicated system, the way I see it, would be self-defeating.

      And yeah, you guess correctly. As you say, heaps of time.

      • haha, yes, yes it would. Spending your day managing your time management would be the poorest, of poor time management.

  2. You call that “ages”?! Sometimes I would let my blog wither in the corners of some hard drive for an entire month! No wonder I get almost zero traffic.

    “Even after four years of university, my time management stinks.” Don’t worry, you’re not alone. I graduated two years ago, worked in financial reporting—where “deadline” meant “be late and you’re dead”—and still my time management skills are almost nonexistent.

    I know we live in an era of information overload. I guess the sooner we acknowledge that we can’t possibly do everything, the better. So let’s just take it easy. 😉

    • Thanks for stopping over, Daniel. It seems that dodgy time management is something that is true for a lot of people; I guess its just one of those things which develops over time.

      Financial reporting sounds intense – certainly far more so than I’d be able to keep up with for any length of time. I’m personally hoping to end up in academia, but time will tell whether I manage it or not.

  3. I graduated from high school in 2000… and I’m still in school. My time management has always and, I’ve come to accept, will always stink. Not that I don’t try, it would be crazy to give up, but its just not a part of my nature.

    In my experience creativity, and organizational skills are almost mutually exclusive. You’re not alone.

    Also you should know that I have two novels I haven’t touched in over two years, a passion for bonsai that I had to surrender due to frequent moving, a custom vivarium that I’ve been ‘working on’ for 6 years, several laptops in various stages of repair, and a fly-rod that hasn’t been out of its case in about two years.

    BUT I will be graduating with a PhD this summer! Its all about priorities and letting your hobbies be just that, stress relievers, i.e. don’t worry about keeping up with them, just enjoy them when you can!

    • Hi guayja,

      Nice to know that I’m not the only one. To be honest, I wouldn’t be surprised if creativity and organisation didn’t go together: they seem almost polar opposites to me, though I suppose a bit of organisation is needed in order to wrestle creative thoughts into a coherent structure.

      Congratulations on your PhD. I bet that’ll feel good 🙂

  4. I graduated uni years ago and my time management skills were actually brilliant then. I am now a mum of a 7 year old and everything has gone out the window 🙂 My goals now are not: I WILL blog once a week, I WILL write once a week, it’s more like: hopefully I will blog this week and maybe I can get some writing done too! Hang in there, you’ll manage x

    • Hi Karen. Thanks for stopping over.

      What’s this? A student with good time management skills? Madness, I tell you :P. But seriously: that sounds like really healthy way of looking at things. Blogging and writing are supposed to be fun, after all.

      • Haha, I had to have good time management skills, my uni was done correspondence – so it’s all on you really 😉

        Yes, you don’t want to write a blog for a year or two then give up in frustration because your goals are too stringent. Personally, I feel that all goals should have a degree of flexibility 🙂

Leave a Reply

