Skip to content

Last month of my course!

May 1, 2013

On the 31st of May, my last ever undergraduate assignment is due to be handed in.  I have no exams this year (finally!) and so this will pretty much mark the end of my degree course.  After this, I’ll have nearly four months to kill before I begin my PhD placement; plenty of time to blitz out a novel, if I do so say so myself.

It certainly hasn’t been an easy ride – four years of physics is anything but easy – but on the whole I’d say that I’ve enjoyed my time at University so far.  I’d be a fool to pursue a PhD if I hadn’t, after all.  I’ve met tons of lovely people in both my course and my university societies, and the course itself has frequently been fascinating.

That said, there are certainly several things that I would do differently if I were ever to do it again.  In particular, I wish that I had relaxed more in my first year: as it happened, I worked myself to exhaustion in more than one area and left myself with a rather nasty anxiety problem which persists to this day.  I’ve actually learned a a number of things from the experience and so don’t completely regret having gone through it, but the fact remains that I’d be a much calmer individual had it never happened.

I still have a fair amount of work to do to do before the end of May.  Computer code needs to be tested, results compiled and the formal report written.  My blogging output is therefore likely to become increasingly sporadic as the month wears on: much as it pains me to say it, my degree is just a liiiiiitle bit more important than this website.  After everything is handed in, reading and writing will take up the majority of my time for the next little while; my blogging content, therefore, can safely be expected to balloon accordingly.

Is anyone here graduating soon?  If so, what have your university experiences been like?

From → Blogging

3 Comments
  1. Congratulations! Sounds like you did University the right way. I did the opposite and was way too relaxed in first and second year. By the time I got my act together it was all a bit too late and I ended up with a degree I wasn’t very proud of. Had a lot of fun though.

    • Thanks for stopping by! And I’m really, really sorry for not responding sooner.

      Glad to hear you enjoyed uni. It’s certainly important to enjoy the experience, which is something I wish I’d realized sooner. And I’m guessing that, contrary to what many believe, not getting a first did not lead to the end of the world.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Uh, wow. I haven’t posted in ages… | The parasite guy

Leave a Reply

