Skip to content

Blogging bugbear: “This is an example of a page…”

April 23, 2013

If your “about” page looks like this, then you should change it.  Quickly.

The “about” page is one of the most important aspects of your site.  This is usually the second thing I click on when viewing a blog and, from a quick glance my stats, I’m hardly alone in this.  It’s important, then, that your “about” page makes a good impression and gives people a clear idea as to what to expect from you.

Leaving the page as it first appears, needless to say, will achieve neither of these.

The page doesn’t need to be particularly big; two or three paragraphs is usually plenty.  That being said, a couple of sentences are still better to read than what is there at the beginning. So if you’re stuck for what to say, just type out a sentence or two and then leave it for a while: you can always expand it later on.

And if you really can’t think of anything to write at all?  I’d honestly suggest deleting the page for the time being.  That way, people will probably go straight to your homepage after reading whatever they first clicked on.  Once you know what you want to say, you’ll be able to do your blog justice; that is the time to add the page back in.

From → Blogging

3 Comments
  1. Thank you! This is a minor pet peeve of mine. I understand writing your biography isn’t easy, but I agree that either changing it to a sentence or two or deleting it entirely is preferable to the stock page. I’ve rarely liked a page that hasn’t done one of those things.

  2. I agree keeping it hidden until ready for the reveal is preferable to leaving it generic. When I see pages like this, I assume the blogger isn’t active.

  3. This is so true! I almost hate to trust bloggers who don’t have an about page filled. It makes me think their posts aren’t going to be quality posts.

Leave a Reply

