Skip to content

So…just finished Infinity’s Reach…

April 20, 2013

Just over a week ago now, I mentioned that I’ll be reading and reviewing nothing but indie books for the next little while. I only realized quite recently just how large the self-pub scene has become and I’d never even considered such books prior to starting this blog.  However, having come across the blogs of several independent authors in my short time on WordPress, I decided that I should really give indie books a chance.  I therefore went ahead and downloaded a number of such books, with Infinity’s Reach at the top of my list.

infinitys-reach-final-ebook

I’ll be honest: I was really hoping I’d like this book.  After making my original post, I really wanted to start this series of reviews on a positive note.  That said, I finished reading this book a few hours ago, and…it’s not looking good.  I haven’t started the review yet, but I can say right now that it won’t be pretty.  Honestly, I feel a bit bummed to be saying this.

On a brighter note, the next book on my reading list is Other Systems, by Elizabeth Guizzetti.  I’ve been looking forward to reading this one for a while, partly because of the gorgeous cover art (see here) and partly because the blurb, displayed below, sounds utterly fascinating.  It’s a big book – Amazon estimates its page count to be just shy of 600 – but it really sounds like something I could get into.

Without an influx of human DNA, the utopian colony on Kipos has eleven generations before it reaches failure. Earth is over ninety light-years away. Time is short.

 
On the over-crowded Earth, many see opportunity in Kipos’s need. After medical, intelligence, and physiological testing, Abby and her younger siblings, Jin and Orchid, are offered transportation. Along with 750,000 other strong young immigrants, they leave the safety of their family with the expectation of good jobs and the opportunity for higher education.
 
While these second-generation colonists travel to the new planet in stasis, the Kiposi, terrified that Earthlings will taint their paradise, pass a series of indenture and adoption laws in order to assimilate the savages.
 
When Abby wakes up on Kipos, Jin cannot be found. Orchid is ripped from her arms as Abby is sold to a dull-eyed man with a sterilized wife. Indentured to breed, she is drugged and systematically coerced. To survive, Abby learns the differences in culture and language using the only thing that is truly hers on this new world: her analytical mind. Haunted by the agony of her loss, but determined to make a better life for herself, she joins a planetary survey team where she will discover yet another way of life.

Expect a full review of Infinity’s Reach in the next few days.

From → Reviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

